jump to navigation

Forgiveness March 12, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Counseling, Faith, Family, Feelings, God, Journal, Ministry, Prayer, Testimony, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Forgiveness comes into our lives in so many ways. The two most obvious are 1)When I say/do something wrong and need to ask someone for forgiveness; and 2)When someone says/does something to me and asks my forgiveness.

I have had issues for a few years with a couple of people, they both said something (different times and places) along the same lines. They were in ministry and these things they said truly shocked me and I’ve looked at them differently ever since. They did not blatantly do anything to me, so that they would have a need to seek forgiveness. I have many times asked the Lord to forgive me my judgment of them, and prayed for them. Still, what they said colors the way I see them, distracts me, and I can’t figure out why.

Last week in counseling (another post and time) I mentioned it. No names or what was said, just my issues. And what was wrong with me that I still have those feelings? He said “Do you have a hard time forgiving?” So immediately I switched to another topic, as it went right over my head he was talking specifically these two. During the course of this week in my time with the Lord and in studying His word, He has revealed to me that I do need to forgive them. What?!? But Lord, they didn’t do anything to me. His answer was that the words they spoke harmed me. Unaware that they were, they were still harmful. I do not need to go to them, as that would serve no purpose. I only need to forgive them, in my heart and mind so that I can move on. Blimey! Who would have thought that I needed to forgive?

Forgiveness does not always mean confronting the person, sometimes it is just confronting the issue. Realizing what it is, putting a name to it.Β  When we forgive, when we ask forgiveness, it is for our benefit. We cannot make someone forgive us, we cannot make someone ask us to forgive them. When forgiveness does happen all the way around if necessary, it is truly a blessing.

Stuck in the same place? Having issues? Searched out the root? Is there someone you need to forgive? Don’t be afraid to ask God to reveal the truth of the matter to you. Then when He does, be faithful in doing as He asks. Forgive…

Comments»

1. Heidi - March 26, 2008

Forgiveness is not always difficult as it seems, because I want no conflict.
No conflict at all
But……. forgetting is my downfall and that is what leads me down a dangerous path. Not like I hold grudges, because I don’t. It’s that I am suspicious and become quiet.

Great post!!

God is definately working on this area for me.

2. hislifeformine - March 26, 2008

Aahh, the memories. I too struggle with them…and then I remember that if it was I who had to seek forgiveness, the Lord has removed it far from me. It is not He who reminds me, but the enemy.
If it was the other person, again I think it is the enemy that brings it to our mind. Because I have taken “offense” and it becomes a stronhold for the enemy. It seems these are the ones (of course) that the enemy throws at me…at just the right time to cause chaos.

3. TheNorEaster - March 26, 2008

I think you both just might get a better idea of just how important the whole process is if you read “When Lightning Strikes” (which, yeah, it’s on my WP site. Sometimes, forgiveness is…well, a little more complicated than a few words that someone said.

Just a suggestion.

4. hislifeformine - March 26, 2008

Nor – Thank you for stopping by. πŸ™‚ I in no way meant to imply that it is not complicated. I specifically spoke to the topmost in my mind that day, I probably shouldn’t have phrased tit “the two most obvious”.

There are many facets to forgiveness, many things need forgiven. What may be incredibly hard for one person may be easy for another. Thankfully we all do not have to go through the same things. I also believe there isn’t one that is more important or worse than another (easy to say-hard to walk out).

Colossians 3:12-14 (NIV)
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

Should we choose to forgive, we will definitely be blessed. We can move forward in relationship with God and each other, instead of being held back by bitterness, anger and the like. When we choose to ask for forgiveness we will be blessed by the Lord because we were obedient, even if the person does not forgive us.

We cannot know what happens in anothers heart, only trust the Lord will work it out.

It is good to have these conversations!!


Leave a Reply

