jump to navigation

I AM lesson 3 April 7, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Devotions/Quiet Time, God, I AM...so you don't have to be, Prayer, Testimony, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback


1. It was stated in the Lesson that God has made you “once, twice, three times a lady.” Where are you in this progression? Obviously we have all been physically born, but are you ‘twice a lady’? Have you been born again spiritually? This may be a private matter you’d like to discuss confidentially. If so, email me. If you have already received this gift, write a brief prayer of thanksgiving or testimony.

Father in heaven, I thank you so much for the gift so freely given. The gift of salvation that I received by the repentance of sin, and the acceptance of forgiveness that Christ Jesus gave to me. I live to love you Lord, to serve you all the days of my life. Each day I come before you, seeking the cleansing blood of the Lamb for those mistakes that I make. Each day you so faithfully grant my petition. Each day you draw me closer to you and fill me to overflowing with your Holy Spirit. Thank you Lord Jesus. I love you.

2. Are you three times a lady? Has God given you a stirring deep within your Spirit to be a ‘deliverer’? Do you have a desire or are you already meeting a need in the life of the church, a particular ministry (such as jail ministry, food ministry, etc.) or perhaps individuals who share common issues?
Yes.

3. Do you ever get tired of waiting for that opportunity to do something
worthwhile for God? Do you ever feel God is using someone else instead of you?
I used to. I’m a dreamer – I want to do “big things” with God. How to explain??? I don’t want to put God in a box, I know that should He desire it – anything, absolutely everything is possible. Planting seeds by the armload…I’m not content to have a few people hear the gospel, I want many, many to see and feel the passion. To “get it”. To find Jesus. I do wonder what it is I’m supposed to do, why do I have this dream that I’ve had since I was a child…that I can’t explain very well I think. I don’t want to sound ungrateful for what God is doing in my life, or that I’m not content, I know there is much for me to learn.
I don’t think I feel now that God is using someone else instead of me. I did for sure in the past, the why do they get to do this when I want to so bad? But, I know it was because “I” wanted to, not because God wanted me to. Ouch!

4. What do you consider ‘worthwhile ministry’? Are you like me and sometimes find yourself mistakenly thinking it has to be Big to be Important?
For a long time that was the case with me, thinking that all those things I was doing were not important because they were behind the scenes, not being noticed. That has been a huge hurdle for me, but I believe with lots of prayer that the Lord has helped me to overcome.
I know now that loving is the most important thing we can do. And the understanding that our “big” and God’s “big” are two very different things. To never underestimate the value of everything or anything that we do for the Lord’s glory.

5. Have you ever taken a spiritual gifts test? If yes, what are yours? If no, here’s a good one from
Ephesians 4 Ministry. Will you take it and come back with a response? Knowing some of you like I already do, I can almost pick out what your gift is before you say it. I can’t wait to see if I’m right!
I had previously taken one through our church, but thought I would do this one as well. My main gift is administration followed closely by service and evangelism (1 point apart).
Comments»

1. Lisa @ The Preacher's Wife - April 8, 2008

I am so proud you are hanging in there Theresa!

I can hear your heart in each answer…..God will work in you to turn all your desires into exactly what He has for you – I have no doubt!

Blessings on you my friend…

Lisa

2. hislifeformine - April 8, 2008

It is hard sometimes not to want to run out in front of God. I believe that He can do anything so sometimes I forget that He still has to equip me. πŸ˜•

3. Tawny - April 8, 2008

I need to retake that test. Pastoring/Sheparding was number one which isn’t too surpising but administration was number two!!!! Before exhortation and prophecy. No way! I need four people to do that stuff for me!

4. Tawny - April 8, 2008

Retook it! Still number two. Could this test be wrong?????? What is prophecy anyway? (That was my number three this time) πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

5. Andresa - April 8, 2008

My husband and I took the test too, so I am dead even at Showing Mercy and Pastor/Shepherd, and prophesy was number three for me too. Erik was pastor/shepherd, and prophesy number two. Basically prophesy is speaking the word of God with boldness!! Love these questions.

6. hislifeformine - April 8, 2008

They were some really good questions weren’t they? I enjoyed taking this test.
With my personality on a few of them I really had to stop and say, no…what do I really think, not what did I think or should I think or is the right answer. πŸ˜•

7. Andresa - April 8, 2008

I know the feeling, I had to remind my husband to do that a few times too, he would answer a snap answer and I would say, “Are you sure that is how you feel and think?” It’s hard to not answer in a way that makes you “look good”. Sometimes honesty about ourselves is painful! ;p)

8. hislifeformine - April 8, 2008

Or even worse, I wonder even sometimes if it is where “I” want to go. You know, if someone sees this profile, it must be where God wants me!
The pain of trying to go and do where I’m not supposed to just isn’t worth it, I’ve been there. The good thing is, I learned and am patiently waiting on the Lord for His plans.

9. Natalie Witcher - April 8, 2008

We think alike and God is chaning me while changing the things around me at the same time. Thanks for this post. I’m going to go take that test and see if it comes up like the others ones I’ve done! I’m sure it will!

10. hislifeformine - April 8, 2008

Isnt’ that wonderful. I have found that as I surrender myself to Him, really surrender, He changes me. And when I change my eyes are opened to see the difference in the people around me. Not so much that they have changed, although that is a wonderful blessing when they do change. But mostly, I am seeing them as Christ sees them, more selflessly.


Leave a Reply

