jump to navigation

Peace and Joy pt 1 April 17, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Faith, God, Love, Prayer, Testimony.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Romans 4:2-3 If, in fact, Abraham was justified by works, he had something to boast about – but not before God. What does the Scripture say? “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.”

Romans 4:20 Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God.

Romans 5:1-4 Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. (NIV)

Does this mean we are happy in our suffering? No. The joy of the Lord, rejoicing in Him, with Him, are totally different. Romans 5:3-4 in the (NLT) We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know they are good for us – they help us learn to endure. And endurance develops strength of character in us, and character strengthens our confident expectation of salvation.

The peace and joy of the Lord in any given situation is nothing I can manufacture or even explain. Happiness is a feeling, and a lot of times it is a choice we make to feel happy. Sometimes it jumps up and we are happy, it’s just there. Sometimes there is no happy, but with Christ there is still the “joy of the Lord”. Therein lies our hope, our comfort. Holding tightly to His peace, His joy. Our salvation in every circumstance. That does not mean freedom or release from the circumstance always, but it does mean that trusting Him will get us through the circumstance.

Comments»

1. tawny - April 17, 2008

Did you sneak into my computer and read my draft for the newsletter? πŸ™‚ I was writing about hope and joy. Good stuff!

2. hislifeformine - April 17, 2008

LOL I think you must have it backwards my friend! You’ll have to come back for part 2 as part of it is already in my head…I thought I should stop where I did for this one. Bibles are laying open on the table, waiting for me to return and dig in. πŸ˜‰

3. Natalie Witcher - April 19, 2008

Saw your name on the LPM Blog! Just saying HI!

4. hislifeformine - April 19, 2008

Hi Natalie. Thank you for coming over to visit! Hope to see you again soon :o)

5. Theresa - April 21, 2008

This is wonderful…I believe that happiness is a choice. I wake up and decide right there that no matter what happens I choose to be happy. It works most of the time. πŸ™‚ I love that I have found the Peace of Jesus in me. I struggled to be at peace for so long that it was a glorious day when I figured out what the awesome feeling IN me was. He grace is enough!!

Thanks for stopping by my blog…You comments were really appreciated!

6. hislifeformine - April 21, 2008

I love that I have found the Peace of Jesus in me. I struggled to be at peace for so long

Theresa, you’ve got it…the struggle to be at peace…cannot happen apart from God, His peace IN us!


Leave a Reply

