jump to navigation

I AM lesson 4 May 1, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Devotions/Quiet Time, Faith, Family, Feelings, God, I AM...so you don't have to be, Journal, Love, Prayer, Testimony, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

1. I am going to present to you a little acrostic to begin our discussion today. What is your latest NLIP? (Not Like I Planned?)

I have been really stymied by this question. Feeling like it has to be one thing and not being able to pick something. Thinking it has to be “not” life shattering or by the other extreme to “fluffy”. What is my problem. Well, I posted yesterday that I was stuck and partly on this. My good friend said I should just say “the last 18 months have pretty much been NLYP” which you can read about here.

2. How did you react to your NLIP? Are you still upset about it? Happy about it? Baffled by it? Explain.

My friend also said I could say this “you have reacted in love for the Lord. I think that would be true.” Upset – my life will never be the same – I also know that it was God’s timing. Happy about it – not in the least. How to explain – my joy is in the Lord. Baffled – no, I know that again it was God’s timing.

3. Have you ever attempted to step into an area of ministry and found your desire rejected? Did this cause you to question God and yourself? Perhaps distrust what you perceived to be your calling?

Yes. Yes. Maybe.

4. Do you harbor any bitterness towards any individual or situation which you believe waylaid your best laid plans?

No, not any longer, forgiveness is a wonderful thing. A bit about that here.


5. Have you had a life experience or trial that left you with a shaken faith because it ended in an NLIP? Please share if you feel free.

See #1. I know that His ways are greater than my ways. That He knows. My faith is in Jesus…He is the only way I can make it through this life. I grow closer to Him, and stronger in Him. Stronger because in my weakness He is strong. He is the reason I live – to shine the light of His love to those He puts in my path.

6. Based on Moses’ response of faith to his own rejection, how will you re-evaluate your own experiences or look at future ones differently if a NLIP presents itself?

For me there is no other way to look at them. God has a plan and a purpose. If I need to grow and change, I pray that I do, for His glory. I do not want to do anything with a heart that is not set on Him and I pray that He will not let me.

Comments»

1. Pete Wilson - May 8, 2008

What a great lesson. Thanks so much for sharing. I love your blog and look forward to reading more real soon!

2. hislifeformine - May 8, 2008

Thank you Pete. This is going to be a long series, and I’m enjoying it. It’s making me think and seek and dig.
Thank you for coming by, I look forward to seeing you again.


Leave a Reply

