jump to navigation

Amen! May 17, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Devotions/Quiet Time, Faith, God, Prayer, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

What are you saying when you say Amen? Are you agreeing with something being said? Are you saying it because everyone else is and you think you should throw one out there? It’s in the bible alot, and at the end of verses so yeah, I’ll say it too!

I always thought “Amen” was agreeing, and it is. A couple of years ago I discovered another meaning for “Amen” and I love it. You can find more definitions here.

–interjection

1. it is so; so be it (used after a prayer, creed, or other formal statement to express solemn ratification or agreement).
[Origin: bef. 1000; ME, OE < LL < Gk < Heb āmén certainty, certainly]

IT IS SO; SO BE IT. That sounds powerful doesn’t it? Note also the origin…Hebrew meaning certainty, certainly.

My “Amens” are now power packed words of “so be it”. It is as You say Lord! I’ve got a bunch of other words I use for agreeing, I’m saving my “Amens” to be statements.

Have you found any words that have a special meaning, that really speak to you now when you say them?

Comments»

1. Darla - May 17, 2008

Amen! So be it, Lord! love it!!!

My word that has been grabbing my heart is “uttermost” it shows up in the KJV and although I don’t use that version much..it impressed me when saying “to the uttermost” -to every corner without void…

2. hislifeformine - May 17, 2008

I like that one too. It just sounds soooooo…..almost more than there is, nothing left over. Thank you for sharing that Darla.
Are your bags packed yet?

3. Selena - May 17, 2008

IT IS SO; SO BE IT
I love that too! I think I am going to start ending my coversations with God, “So be it.”

4. hislifeformine - May 17, 2008

It really changes my perspective.

5. Pete Wilson - May 18, 2008

Like you, Amen is kind of my word. For many years I used it not really knowing what it meant. Thanks for the powerful reminder.

6. hislifeformine - May 18, 2008

Yes. Such big meaning for such a small word isn’t it?

7. tawny - May 20, 2008

Hey, I did my In Jesus Name revelation on my blog. You started me thinking about it and then Kristi pushed me over the edge. 🙂

8. hislifeformine - May 20, 2008

hahaha….I’ll be over soon! Not laughing at you, just tickled that we got you to thinking.

9. bmaddigan3 - October 19, 2009

Hi Sister,

Please see: http://www.Amenamen.com

Help Us spread His Living Word…

And Thanks SO Much… <

P.S. Love your 'Sister' moon Pic

(as the moon Is a woman, Not a man)


Leave a Reply

