jump to navigation

What if… May 25, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Devotions/Quiet Time, Faith, Family, Feelings, Friends, God, Love, Ministry, Prayer, Testimony, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

…you knew you only had 30 Days to Live? You’ve been hearing about this sermon series here and here. They are available to listen to here, and I highly recommend them.

This morning, oh it was a good message! Passion for living…something the Lord has been talking over with me the last few months. But really what I want to talk about today is our time to live. We are asked the question “What would you do in you knew you only had 30 days to live”?

Would you spend more time on things that matter? What is it that matters? God’s Word and people. Those are the only 2 things that will last, everything else will pass away. A legacy of caring, laughing, loving those most dear to us. We cannot stop there though, we must care for and love those He places in our path. We are able to do that by spending time in His Word, learning to be more like Him and letting Him love through us.

What we don’t get is that “our days are numbered“. His Word tells us so in Psa 39:4 “LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered, and that my life is fleeing away. (NLT) He knows the very moment we will breath our last on this earth. It could even be today. Have I left a legacy of love? Have I spent time learning more about this wonderful God I serve? This God who will not ask me to do anything He hasn’t already done.

I can turn it around even and say “Does my loved one know before he/she dies how very much I love them, how very much God loves them”? What if they go before me? We cannot live a life of regret. We must live today. Seek forgiveness for mistakes we made yesterday, accept that forgiveness and live today. Don’t worry about tomorrow – that is just as big a trap. I will lose today!

Just because I do not know that I have a specific number of days to live doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t live like I do. Does that make sense? Live like I have 30. And if I should live beyond that thirty days? Thank the Lord for more time. And then live it again! 30 days by 30 days, if that is what it takes to keep me passionate and focused on Jesus. His love, His sacrifice, His servants heart.

Help me Father to live today as You have asked me to. Passionate in all I do and think and feel. Guide me as I step out and take that risk. You have said You are always with me. When I step out in faith You are there to guide me in the path You have chosen just for me. Help me to take the time to show those most dear to me how very much I love them, how very special they are, to me and to God. Help me to reflect your love and mercy to those around me, those I know and those I don’t. Help me to always remember, I am the one most in need of Your grace and mercy. For Your glory, in the power of Your Name – no other, Jesus….Amen.

Comments»

1. tam - May 25, 2008

“Don’t worry about tomorrow – that is just as big a trap. I will lose today!”

SO true! I fall into that trap far too often!

It really has been a fantastic series for sure. What a blessing to be a part of a church that is truly equipping people to grasp what it is to live…cuz when we do – we WILL effect those around us. That is what matters most…

2. hislifeformine - May 25, 2008

Amen! I couldn’t agree more Tam.

3. william fhakefpeare - May 25, 2008
4. Darla - May 26, 2008

well..in thirty days I will be in your area! sooo should i expect to live like its my last! πŸ˜†

I think we should always live like its our last…we have no promise for tomorrow…if it should be tomorrow..then its a gift!

5. hislifeformine - May 26, 2008

wf – I’m trying to come up with a question…it’s going to have to be random I think πŸ™‚

Darla – Here! Here! Absolutely…if more of us could only do it (myself included-I fail at times I know – horribly).

6. Physiotype - June 18, 2008

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Physiotype.


Leave a Reply

