jump to navigation

What does Quiet Time mean? May 30, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Devotions/Quiet Time, Faith, Feelings, God, Journal, Love, Prayer, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

This whole thought process started here with Cathi and Tawny so I’ll wait while you catch up.

Waiting…

Waiting…

Back yet? Okay.

Quiet time for someone like me (rules, rules, rules – even implied rules) starts with having to have the house quiet, that includes people, electronic media, you get it – quiet. Time – mere moments do not count, it has to be at least a 1/2 hour or I’ve shorted God. So from the get-go, I’m distracted. For me – Devotions is much better. I am devoting myself to God.

Therein lies my quandry, yes I am devoting myself to God for that period of time. Isn’t He though devoting Himself to me also? I know that my Lord is always devoted to me, ALWAYS. But still, the purpose (for me) is two way communication…I want to hear from God as well as talk with Him.

Devotions – from the Greek word “sebasma” means, object of worship.

We were talking about communicating…communicate comes from the Greek word “sugkoinoneo” (pronounced= soong-koy-no-neh-o) meaning to share in company with, i.e. co-participate in:-communicate (have fellowship) with, be partaker of.

I don’t know about you, but l love the definition of communicate. I don’t think we could coin sugkoinoneo as “the” new word for quiet time or devotions.

What do you think? What word comes to mind when you think of your time spent with the Lord?

Comments»

1. therealstorie - May 30, 2008

I don’t know if I can sum it up in one word. need…desperate….communion….facedown….help!
I guess it depends on the day and the moment. All I can say is I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for HIM.
Thank you for sharing. You have a real gift of words!
mwah! Storie

2. hislifeformine - May 30, 2008

Storie – thanks for coming over and visiting! I love those words, and truth be told we are all there most if not all the time. Or maybe it’s we should be?

*And I was so hoping someone else would say communion! Bless you my friend.

3. tawny - May 31, 2008

If you want the truth, Theresa, I have a picture in my heart of what my “alone with God” time is but it doesn’t have words with it. It is just a wonderful feeling I get, anticipating my time with Him. It hasn’t always been that way, and I don’t remember when warm fuzzies started coming before my morning time with Him but they make it really easy for me to meet Him. It is very similar when to when I am getting ready to go out for coffee with one of my friends. Sometimes my time with Him still falls flat and I just feel like I am going through the motions. That’s when I know I have to go take walk sometime that day so I can pray out loud and find out what is wrong with me. Or at least remember my progesterone cream. 🙂

This is an interesting topic, I hope more people comment on it…..

4. hislifeformine - May 31, 2008

I love that! A picture in your heart. Perhaps these warm fuzzies are that the Spirit is already communing with your spirit? You have dedicated this time and they are getting a head start? Preparing your mind…

5. Kelly - June 2, 2008

Soak. That would be my word. I want the whole world blocked out and only HIM for my senses to grab a hold of. Not easy in this media-driven, noise-filled no-down-time-allowed world!! Not to mention in a house with 5 kids! I love to go in my bedroom, turn praise and worship music on….either dance crazy with praise music or crawl face down under my blankets and pull them over my head with worship music…and just worship, talk, listen, laugh, hear what He is thinking about and just love Him! He surprises me though. I HATE to wash dishes, and we moved into a house where there is no way to hook up my dishwasher. So it seems like OFTEN, when I finally get around to washing my mountain of dishes…there He is waiting for me:) I can just feel Him, and He talks to me there. It makes me laugh. It’s like getting allowance for doing my chores LOL!

6. hislifeformine - June 2, 2008

I like soak! And He will meet us anywhere won’t He? He is just happy we are willing to hang out with Him!
and “It’s like getting allowance for doing my chores!” WooHoo you got it going on.

7. cathi stegall - June 3, 2008

ooooo-ooooo-oooooooooo!!!! this is just so good! What a way to work in concrete words to help us define this special time. Can I tell you my favorite “devotional/conversation/quiet time” time?? I love it just before I fall asleep, praying in my head, yet it is still a whisper [maybe b/c it’s late and I don’t want my thoughts waking up the rest of my body…hmmmm]…and falling asleep. It’s like falling asleep in my daddy’s arms. I just like it.
Also, I’m not a big pusher on 1 hr, 1/2 hr or 8 hour devotion time…reading the Psalms makes me think it’s an intentional continual thing that is spurred on by passion, love, intrigue and desire…so if 5 minutes does it for you that day, then 5 minutes it is…walking with Jesus the rest of the day is the kicker!

ok, I”m done now.

[and btw, thanks for the link love, my friend!!!]

8. Kelly - June 3, 2008

I’m so with you on the time issue Cathi. There was a lot of teaching about that that I watched put a lot of people into legal bondage trying to ‘perform up to par’, and then give up when they failed! Gosh, if I stuck my hubby in a prescribed time frame only, I don’t think he’d be very happy with me. Though, at the same time, I do set aside certain times for hubby when our lives seem to be running non stop, or we’d be two ships passing in the night! And I have those times with God also…where I tell hubby that TONIGHT at this certain time, I am LOCKING myself in the bedroom alone with God! With kids…just have to roll that way sometimes. But otherwise, me and God, we dance all day:) I’m always listening, always thinking, always soaking Him in in so many different ways…or letting Him squeeze me out on others:) He’s captured my heart…and I gave the dance lead to Him!

9. hislifeformine - June 3, 2008

Cathi, how sweet that sounds. I love that you are so free in the “time”. What a blessing. I do agree, walking it out with Him through the day is essential.

(anytime my friend)

10. hislifeformine - June 3, 2008

Kelly you said He’s captured my heart…and I gave the dance lead to Him!
I love it!! Letting Him lead, you know if I didn’t get in the way all the time, I bet He’d cut a mean waltz. Just the thought makes me giddy!

(I love your new pic)


Leave a Reply

