jump to navigation

A Poignant Reminder May 31, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Faith, Family, God, Grief, Love, Prayer, Testimony.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

It is time to pull out the poem that was given to me when my daughter Karen died unexpectedly at 1 1/2 years of age in 1977. I myself had just turned 18. I don’t read it often but remember many of the lines. They have been a huge comfort. Although I was not walking with the Lord, I did know Christ. He held me together even though I did not know it, even though I did not grieve as I should have.

When my son Steven died in a car accident last August at 29 years of age I couldn’t read this. I kept it in my heart for Karen. I have been walking with the Lord for many years now. About 10 years ago I fully gave my children Steven, Katie, and Amanda over to the Lord. The kids were 19, 9, 8 respectively. I realized I could not always keep them safe, nor make decisions for them. We are told not to worry in the bible, but to pray. So pray I did, surrendering them completely to the Lord’s will for each of their lives. I could only teach them, and show them the Lord, most especially through my walk with Him. And love them, no matter what, love. And the love I pour out to them is so worth it, so worth the cost. Unconditionally.

This poem is by Edgar Guest.

“I’ll lend you for a little while

A child of mine,” He said.

“For you to love the while he lives

And mourn when he is dead.

It may be six or seven years, or

Twenty two or three,

But will you ’til I call him back,

Take care of him for Me?

He’ll bring his charms to gladden you,

And should his days be brief,

You’ll have his lovely memories

As solace for your grief.

I cannot promise he will stay,

Since all from earth return,

But there are lessons taught down there

I want this child to learn.

I’ve looked this wide world over

In my search for teachers true,

And from the throngs that crowd life’s lane,

I have selected you.

Now will you give all your love,

Nor think the labor vain,

Nor hate Me when I come to call

To take him back again?”

I fancy that I heard them say,

“Dear Lord, Thy will be done.

For all the joy this child shall bring,

The risk of grief we’ll run;

We’ll shelter him with tenderness,

We’ll love him while we may,

And for the happiness we’ve known

Forever grateful stay.

But should the angels call for him,

Much sooner then we’ve planned,

We’ll brave the bitter grief that comes

And try to understand.”

My prayer is that as we read these words we are comforted, we understand these children are loaned to us for a time. They are not ours, they are really our Fathers. We care for them, love them, treasure them and give them to the One who loves them the most. For His glory alone. Unconditionally.

Comments»

1. Theresa - June 1, 2008

I am sorry for you loss twice.

What a beautiful Poem. Thank you for sharing!!!

2. hislifeformine - June 1, 2008

Theresa – thank you. The poem is amazing isn’t it. With all that is going on around us, or maybe it is just that we are so “connected” now with technology that we hear more, I felt it was time to bring it out and share.

3. Natalie Witcher - June 2, 2008

My. Only God can comfort such losses. Thank you for sharing.

4. therealstorie - June 2, 2008

Dear Theresa,
What a beuatiful post. He brings beauty from our ashes. Now you are giving out, and comforting others with a message that is profound. I take this with me and tuck it into my heart for always….that they are on loan to us for a little while. It helps me be slow to speak, slow to judge, quick to listen, to stay a little longer, to slow down and be patient. To cultivate in love.
You are precious, sister, and I will be holding you close to my heart in thse days as you are reflecting on the things God has allowed in your life.
my love, Storie

5. hislifeformine - June 2, 2008

Nat, Thank you for stopping in, commenting. It touches my heart. I do hope you are blessed by the poem.

Storie, I am glad the poem has found a home in your heart. Thank you for your prayers.

6. Kelly - June 2, 2008

Wow, such grief could consume, overtake a persons life, yet I look at your picture and read your words and do not hear bitterness and grief. To have suffered such loss….yet have the Father fill those empty places with such love, such comfort…that each tear shed could be turned into a healing balm for another…that is amazing. I really believe that it is people like you who survive such loss and grief, and yet are still giving, still loving, still living….you are the real hidden heros of the world. Thank you for pulling me out of my shallowness….even if only for a moment….a stark reminder that I am indeed a very blessed woman, and a reminder to hold my blessings close, yet loosely, for they do belong to Him. Thank you for sharing.

7. hislifeformine - June 2, 2008

Kelly – thank you so much for your kind words. It truly is only by His strength.


Leave a Reply

