jump to navigation

Smile June 6, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Feelings, Love, Random, Thoughts.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

“A smile is often the most essential thing. One is repaid by a smile. One is rewarded by a smile. One is animated by a smile.” by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

This tugged at me today after being out and about. How often have I been guilty of not sharing a smile with someone. They are free to give, they cost us nothing. True authentic smiles are priceless.

A perfect stranger – all the better to smile at! Even today as I look back, when I was at the DMV I could have smiled at the gentleman waiting in line as I passed by. I was done and walking down the aisle to go out the door, he was at the end of a very long line. I sort of made eye contact and then dropped my eyes, and I knew as I passed him I should smile. Smiles can also encourage – and heaven knows in a long line we could all use encouragement.

“Help me Lord to smile more, not just sometimes or only at certain people. Help me to follow Your heart more, and smile first! Real, authentic, from the heart smiles.”

How’s your smile doing?

Comments»

1. Kim Heinecke - June 6, 2008

Isn’t it weird how we withhold smiles for people we don’t know?! That’s it…tomorrow is going to be Smilin’ Saturday, just for practice!

2. tawny - June 7, 2008

I smiled at a scary looking guy at Starbucks this morning, just for you! πŸ™‚

3. tawny - June 7, 2008

Oh! And HAPPY 50TH BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!

4. Julene - June 7, 2008

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! BIG πŸ™‚
I like this post, I recently heard someone who was talking on the importance of smiles and she said if you don’t FEEL like smiling tell your face to “Shut up and have a good day!” It’s amazing when we put a smile out there as a sacrifice (for a stranger, or even more – for our kids!) it can actually turn a bad day or situation around. πŸ™‚

5. Theresa - June 7, 2008

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

I have been not only making a point of smiling at people but also trying to make eye contact and tell them to have good day. Like the cashiers at the deli or whoever. It is amazing to see the shock on their faces and then they usually light up and wish me a good day too. Even if they are grumpy or rude about it I just smile and continue on my way. I think it puzzles some people.

I think it is a shame that we are all so use to people being strangers, weird and/or rude that common courtesy has gone the way of the wind.

Good Post Birthday Girl!!! Here is a smile for you. πŸ˜€

6. hislifeformine - June 8, 2008

Kim – how was your Smilin’ Saturday? Oh, I hope you were blessed! Thank you for coming by and sharing some of you with me.

Tawny – I’m so proud of you πŸ˜‰ Thank you, it is good to be 50!

Julene – I love that phrase…it’s one to remember. Thank you!

Theresa – It is a good feeling, knowing we have made a difference in someones day isn’t it? Thank you!

7. Faith - June 8, 2008

One thing I love about living in the South is that if you smile at a stranger, they don’t look at you funny. πŸ˜‰

8. hislifeformine - June 8, 2008

You all need to travel a bit this summer and spread some of that around okay?

9. Heidi - June 10, 2008

I’m smiling big “with my teeth in”.

Please forgive me my sister….

Happy Birthday!!!
50?

You are so fibbing.

Love you girl!!

10. hislifeformine - June 10, 2008

With your teeth in…hahaha. You know if I met you in a doorway I’d reach over and hug you. With or without πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

