jump to navigation

Laughing at myself? June 20, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Faith, Family, Feelings, Friends, Music, Random, Testimony, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

“When a woman can laugh at herself, she gives freedom to other women to do the same. It takes a confident and secure woman to laugh at herself. A woman who doesn’t live in fear of being “discovered” or “found out” or even “thought less” of—a woman who isn’t trying so hard to hold it all together (or still pretending that she can) –these are the women I love being around.”
~Nicole Johnson

This is a big deal for me. It was hard for a long time, and heaven forbid anyone laugh at me. Because of course that meant I had done something wrong. And I can’t do anything wrong…I mean not that I can’t because I do, but no one else is supposed to see. I can correct it before they find out. It must be done right. Doesn’t that sound awful? I lived like that most of my life, a perfectionist. An in the dark or unaware that was what was going on with me, but none the less a perfectionist.

Bondage…that is what that was. I can laugh at myself now, thank the Lord for that. And it feels good to have that freedom. Nicole is so right in that quote…it gives freedom to the other women, laughing with me and at me, because by golly it must truly be funny. I am not perfect, I can’t hold it all together and life is so much more fun, better when I don’t try for the unattainable. That is how relationships are formed. If I can’t laugh at myself, then how can my “friends” laugh? If I can’t laugh at myself how can I be real and expect to have real relationships? How can I expect to “go deep”? We are all called to “go deep” because we are all one body.

Is not laughter beautiful music? Laughter is good for the soul, and mine went way to long without it.

How about you? Can you laugh at yourself?

Comments»

1. Eric Olsen - June 21, 2008

I’m not a woman, but I can laugh at myself, and I do. Maybe that makes it easier? I don’t think so. There are just as strict expectations for a man to not be laughable.

I don’t worry about it too much. I don’t take myself too seriously. A person has to be able to look at themself and laugh once in a while, otherwise they are trying too hard.

Don’t worry about what others think. Some are critical for the sake of criticizing, and no matter what you do they will never be happy. Be yourself and don’t worry about the rest.

Eric 🙂

2. brainteaser - June 21, 2008

Hello!

Being able to laugh at myself makes things a lot easier. It relaxes me. And it makes me think I am doing things just for the sake of fun, even if I am actually doing something for some serious reason. If I am able to drum that into my head — that it’s all for fun — I don’t mind making some minor mistakes, and interestingly, my output is a lot better. That sounds like contradictory, but that is the way it is.

Yes, we all have to loosen up. The world is a difficult place to live in, but pouting and being hard on ourselves don’t make it any better.

Keep laughing. It’s good for the health, too!~

~Sherma

3. Theresa - June 21, 2008

OH BOY!! I get some of my best laughs at myself. I never really realized how funny I was until I stopped getting upset about being laughed at. 🙂

It isn’t what others think or find funny that is important. It is what you offer to the Lord that should be the most wonderful gift in your life. Who really cares if you are being laughed at when you know that you are living the life he intended.

Lady you are awesome and sometimes we laugh at ourselves just because we need an ab workout. 😉

4. HisLifeformine - June 21, 2008

Eric, it is too bad that we put so much stock in what others expect or think. I love what you said
“A person has to be able to look at themself and laugh once in a while, otherwise they are trying too hard.”.
That is so true. Life is too short. Thank you for stopping by and visiting!

5. HisLifeformine - June 21, 2008

Sherma, I agree – relaxing and having fun our output is better. That is not to say we don’t do a good job or want things done well but I guess maybe that we understand “it is not the end of the world if something doesn’t go just right”. Thank you for visiting with me!

6. HisLifeformine - June 21, 2008

Theresa, it is amazing how funny we are isn’t it? And we all are. Instead of freaking out about making a mistake, stop and look at it from the outside – deep breath and yes, get those abs working girlfriend!


Leave a Reply

