jump to navigation

I AM lesson 7 August 22, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Faith, Feelings, God, I AM...so you don't have to be, Love, Prayer, Testimony, Thoughts.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

1. How would you answer the question, “Who am I?” I am precious in the sight of God. He created me – just as I am. He knew what, when, how, all that I am or hope to be – He knows. Cracked, broken, redeemed, loved, growing. Seeking after God with my whole heart. Seeking to reach the world – such as He has gives me – with the Good News, which is Christ Jesus.

2. Have you ever been in a situation where you felt inadequate because of your lack of a ‘tagline’? Yes, way more often than I even like to admit. Thinking that titles matter. A whole lot. Thinking that if I don’t have a title, will people listen, will they hear? I’m learning that it isn’t the title, it is Christ speaking through whomever He chooses. It is not my responsibility to ‘make them listen’, only to speak. He will reap the harvest. Titles can actually ‘pigeon-hole’ people I think sometimes. So really, isn’t it better to not have a title so I’m not distracted by it? Hmmm…

3. Do you have skills or position that you believe God could use mightily if only He would? I believe so. But who’s to say He isn’t and I’m just unaware. I must be walking in the Spirit always so that aware or unaware I bring honor to Christ. A daily choice I must make. Phil. 1:20-22a For I live in eager expectation and hope that I will never do anything that causes me shame, but that I will always be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past, and that my life will always honor Christ, whether I live or I die. For to me, living is for Christ, and dying is even better. Yet if I live, that means fruitful service for Christ. NLT

4. Have you ever lost a position or station in life you believe could have ‘helped God out’ with something He has asked you to do? If you haven’t lost out, do you perhaps feel you have to gain this in order to be useful to the Kingdom? Sort of. I know what an answer. Yes. But now I don’t know. The crux of the question ‘helped God out’ implies He needs helping, and I know that not to be true. That makes it about me. God is more than able! I know God is working in me, moving me. For what? I don’t know. Maybe for something I would have missed had I still been tied to this other commitment. Making sure that I really am free to move where He moves me, when He moves me. Really releasing my grasp on things earthly. Good kingdom work but was it taking the place of the Spirit? Was it holding me back from His good purpose? I think so.

5. How are you with your dialogue vs. doubt conversations with God? Which does God hear most from you? Dialogue. Regardless of the circumstances surrounding me, I do not doubt God or His will and purposes. Do I question? Yes, and that is good I think. If I didn’t question how would I get the answer?

6. Do you believe God’s Wonders become more wonderful if they originate in the ordinary? Any scripture references come to mind? If something is more than ordinary we seem to expect more and would not count it to God I think. Acts 4:13 When they saw the courage of Peter & John and realized they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus. NIV The NLT translation uses the word ‘boldness’ instead of ‘courage’. Isn’t this what we want, people to know that it is Jesus and not us? The ordinary allows that to happen, allows them to be drawn to Him.

Comments»

1. 1godsgal - August 25, 2008

It’s fun to work throught these questions with you. Thank you so much for your honesty…
Smiles!

2. HisLifeformine - August 25, 2008

Hi Debs! These are some deep questions aren’t they? I’m having to really dig and search my heart.


Leave a Reply

