jump to navigation

What a quote! September 4, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Faith, God, Thoughts.
Tags: , ,
trackback

“Life is NOT a journey to the grave, with the intention of arriving safely, in a pretty and well preserved body… BUT rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming… WOW Lord!!! What a ride!”

Don’t you love that quote? Does it excite you? Does it bring you to a place of expectation?

But God’s truth stands firm like a foundation stone with this inscription: “The LORD knows those who are his,” and “All who belong to the Lord must turn away from evil.” In a wealthy home some utensils are made of gold and silver, and some are made of wood and clay. The expensive utensils are used for special occasions, and the cheap ones are for everyday use. If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work. –2 Tim. 2:19-21, NLT

I don’t want to use my everyday self, hiding “the good stuff” away in a closet waiting for just the right moment, the right clothes, the right place, the right people, the right words, etc., etc. If I wait around for that, I’ll be waiting forever! I will have wasted some of the precious jewels the Lord had waiting there to share. Do I not trust that my God is bigger than my doubts?

By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life…  –2 Peter 1:3, NLT

Comments»

1. Theresa - September 4, 2008

I love that quote. I have heard it before.

I wear the few diamonds I have every day. I use my good perfume all the time. I love to live life trusting God. I feel blessed that I figured out how to do that before I turned 40!!

2. HisLifeformine - September 5, 2008

Good for you Theresa! Life is too short to think we’ll save our ‘good stuff’ for a special time. We’ve got to ‘get’ that today is special.


Leave a Reply

