jump to navigation

Empty me November 3, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Faith, God, Music, Prayer.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

One day last week a dear friend prayed with me. She prayed that I would ‘in the moment’ seek God, spend a moment with Him. If I can just take 5 minutes, 2 minutes to spend time to be refreshed. To let God be the lifter of my head.
And then I got in the car to drive home and the song on the radio was ‘Empty Me’ by Chris Sligh. That song touches a chord deep in me and was absolutely what I needed to hear. The line “empty me of me, so I can be filled with You”…
It’s not enough that I go take that time, moment by moment throughout the day. When I take those moments I need to empty myself, so He can fill me up. To give all the cares and concerns to the One who loves me completely. If I’m not empty how can the Lord fill me? I must give in order to receive, and who wants to hold on to all that yuck?

Empty me of me Lord, so I can be filled with YOU.

Comments»

1. darla - November 3, 2008

Love this song too.I do want to grow in emptying me more often to be filled with HIM. Love you Princess

2. HisLifeformine - November 5, 2008

Yes Darla, it seems that empty part is sometimes forgotten. Surrendering to His will each day is one thing, but I think it would be so much better to do both.

3. darla - November 5, 2008

I am hearing you sista!

4. DaRonn - November 6, 2008

Amazing how some times we have to make time for the most important relationship in our lives.

5. Theresa - November 8, 2008

Awesome song!! I hadn’t heard it yet. I can think of quite a few times that this song would have reminded me where I am suppose to be. Both Mentally and Physically!

6. HisLifeformine - November 10, 2008

Sorry to be MIA, I’ve been out of town and just got back! Wonderful time.
DaRonn, why is that do you think? Taking for granted maybe?
Theresa, Totally agree with you there!


Leave a Reply

