jump to navigation

I think healing is taking place November 12, 2008

Posted by Theresa Madden in Faith, Family, Feelings, God, Grief, Love.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I think healing has really begun taking place in our family. It is such a slow process. Now that our girls are living back at home temporarily we are able to really love on each other and support each other.
When our 29 year old son Steven was killed in a car accident in August 2007 Katie was 12 hours away attending college. Amanda was living at home, she moved out in December of 2007 to be on her own.
Katie really had no one to talk to, or get hugs from, or understand what she was going through. Amanda was grieving silently as well. We would talk occasionally, mostly just hugs and crying. Avoidance seemed to be the best way to deal with it. Not talking about him, because to talk meant to cry. To cry hard. We all were hanging on by a thread
Last evening we were all just being together, playing Wii and having fun, laughing. And today, sitting around visiting, comfortable. And laughing, oh it is sooo good to laugh again, freely. As a family together, I just really felt today that we are starting to heal. The girls went up to see our daughter-in-law and grandchildren for a few days last week. They had a nice visit, and she (dil) opened up with them a bit. She needs so much prayer, I don’t get to see her or the grand-kids nearly as often as I would like.

And today, I think maybe I can write to the recipient of Steven’s heart. We received a letter from him a few months ago, from the Donor Center. I have held on to it, hoping one day to be able to communicate. I don’t know what I will write yet or even if the communication will stop at this one letter. Do I know yet if I could actually meet him? If I could hug him? Lay my head on his chest? Feel Steven’s heart beating, hear it? No. If it is to be, it will be the Lord’s doing.
I know that there are others who were given a second chance, we know a bit about them, their first names, ages, states and family situations. I think in all Steven was able to help 4 people.

I believe with all my heart, my Savior and Lord Jesus has kept us together. He has walked with us every step of the journey. Giving us strength when we had none, helping us to get through one day at a time, one hour at a time. The many changes that have taken place in this last year, many so hard to bear. There have been good things too, and for those blessings I am eternally grateful.

Thank you Lord for your many blessings. Father, for so much that I am not even aware of. So many ways You have protected us and loved us.

2 Corinthians 1:2-4 (NIV)
3Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

Comments»

1. Chuck Whiteley - November 13, 2008

You are so strong. I can’t imagine the pain you have endured. It’s only because of the Lord’s grace you have made it through. Your faith encourages me. πŸ™‚

2. HisLifeformine - November 13, 2008

Chuck – nice to see you! It is absolutely the Lord’s grace. Knowing that He will use everything for His purpose and His glory.

3. tawny - November 13, 2008

Yay! I love that you are laughing! XO

4. Theresa - November 13, 2008

I won’t even to begin to imagine that I can understand the pain of losing a child. I am just very happy to hear that healing is coming. That your family is learing to be a family again.

You all have amazing strength to be able to cope and laugh again. God is wonderful that he has brought that back to you.

It is also a precious gift that you allowed Steven to live on in other people. That is a very unselfish thing to allow. You are all in my prayers!!

5. HisLifeformine - November 15, 2008

Tawny – me too!

Theresa – you said “your family is learning to be a family again” and that is so on target. That is exactly what I was thinking as I looked around the room, this is it…our family. And really enjoying this time with the girls. I know it will go really fast so I want to treasure the moments.

6. alece - December 2, 2008

woah.

WOAH.

the “shalom” of God is so evident in your life. did you know it means more than the word “peace” we’ve ascribed to it? it means “nothing broken, nothing missing”. and i totally see God bringing His shalom to every corner of your life.

and i can’t help but smile.

7. HisLifeformine - December 9, 2008

Hi Alece! I did not know that, thank you. Wonderful to see you here πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

