jump to navigation

Regret or Repentance May 21, 2009

Posted by Theresa Madden in Bible, Faith, God, Thoughts.
trackback

It took a couple of days, okay 4 to get this post up I referred to here. We had a good message in April and I am going to shamelessly use some of the bullet points from that teaching.

  • God will allow us to temporarily suffer and struggle, because of our own choices. But, when He does, it is to lead us to true repentance.

When I am in the midst of suffering and I ask God for help. “Lord please help me, get me out of this.” Why am I asking?

Is it because I’m desperate? I’m regretting the choices that led me to where I am now? When the Lord helps me and it seems all is well, will I turn and do the same thing again?

or

Is it because I am truly repentant? Am I going to make different choices, better choices? Am I going to change?

  • Repentance = a changed life / behavior
  • Regret = no change in my life / behavior … it is still all about ‘what’s in it for me?’

I’ve heard it before but for some reason it really struck a chord. If I’m truly living for Christ I must not take ownership of my life, I must let God have control.
Luke 9:23 Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. 24 For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it. 25 What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit his very self? NIV

  • We are to live by and for the promises of Christ, not by the pretense of our own power.

The Holy Spirit lives in me, I have Christ, I have all I need in Him. When I am regretful I am living in the pretense of my own power. And pretense it is! When I am repentant, then the promises of Christ and His power rules my life. I will live to please Him.

I don’t want to regret – I want to repent. I want to truly live! And for me that means Christ. How about you?


Comments»

1. lovewillbringustogether - June 28, 2009

Hi, it has been a while 🙂

Going over some old comments at my blog and dropped by.

Nice post (and i love the ‘New Theme’ – so much i used it myself for a period) 😉

Repentance in Greek can also read as ‘Metanoia’ which literally means ‘to change one’s mind’ so that we change our life as a result. We repent.

Here is a catch though: can we truly change our mind if we keep it in exactly the ‘same’ ‘place’ ??? in our ‘one brain’ connected to our ‘one heart’, that is the source of our human desire?

If we do manage to put new thoughts ‘in’ will not the ‘old container’ and formulater of our thoughts in our mind eventually corrupt those new thoughts.

Should we put ‘new wine’ in ‘old bottles’ ??

How might we truly ‘change our mind’? How can we feel more certain of Repentance remaining within us that we sin no more?

Maybe through us all learning how to live IN spirit – In Christ – and in the Redeemer, the Comforter He promised to bring to those who believe in His name? While we learn how not to live in our body and mind of flesh ALL the time?

just a thought 🙂

with you In Spirit.

<B

2. プール 水着 - September 11, 2013

日本正規販売店


Leave a Reply

